Crusheen Community Centre History

The existing community centre building dates from 1884 and was originally Crusheen National School until the new school was built 200 metres away in 1979. A committee of volunteers planned and fundraised for the remodelling of the old school to turn it into a community centre intended for community events, and as a resource facility for the new school. Two classrooms were joined together to create a hall and a stage area, a kitchen area was created, and toilets were added to the rear of the building. These renovation works were completed in late 1980 and the centre quickly became a lively local hub, attracting a diverse range of users, as well as being used for extra-curricular activities by the new national school.

Jimmy Fitzgibbon at County Final, Cusack Park

Crusheen Community Centre ​Board of Directors

Crusheen Community Centre CLG Renovation Project is being managed by the Board of Directors which forms the Crusheen Community Centre Committee.  Crusheen Community Centre is incorporated as Crusheen Community Centre CLG (charity no. 20051471).  The current Board of Directors was elected at the AGM held on 22nd October 2019 and consists of 7 directors.

In Memory Of

The late Michael Fogarty and Eugene Mulligan, both of whom have contributed enormously to this project. Their dedication and commitment have driven the project to where we are today. Both will always be fondly remembered. RIP.

Special Thanks

The following people have also contributed enormously to this project.  Their dedication and commitment have and continues to drive this project, especially Owen and Mary O’Donnell of whom have given a lifetime of commitment to the Crusheen Community Centre to bring us to where we are today and continue to do so through their son Shane O’Donnell.

Our Former Directors:

Director: Robert McGreal
Director and PR Officer: Bridget Fogarty

Our Extended Committee Members:

Marketing & Communications: Sarah O’Connor
Grant Application Manager and Content: Lucy Kearney
Solicitor and Special Advisor: Louise Kearney

Weekly Lotto:

Helen O’Brien
Kevin Cleary
Bernie O’Brien
Dympna Mullins
Gary O’Donoghue

‘There are so many others who have helped out over the years – too numerous to mention, but we are very grateful for their contribution’. 

Marie Hanrahan,
Director and Secretary

The National Lottery Logo